Winners Of the Visible Spectrum Awards 2015/2017

Breaking News!!
Hello All,
The Visible Spectrum Award entry closing date has been extended for one week.
Entries may be placed in the Drop-Box at Media Film Services, in Cape Town & Johannesburg as well
Should you have any nominations for entries in our Awards, please find the details in the attached “Call for Entry” documents
As you can see we have 11 award categories ranging from Students to Documentaries and Drama to Features films
The closing date for entries is the 1st September 2017 and the category entrance fee is FREE
The Visible Spectrum Award ceremony will be held on 30th September 2017 the venue is ‘The Barnyard Theatre, Cresta, Johannesburg – 17h30 for 18h00 start
To book for the Visible Spectrum Award ceremony, please email the with the amount of people attending in your party, as well as the names and contact details
A ticket to attend the Visible Spectrum Awards evening costs R150 per person and includes dinner, the Award Ceremony, entertainment, and plenty of time to network and have a good time. (Student packages are available on Request).

Should you require further information or have any queries, please contact don’t hesitate to contact Duane at the above email
Attend Awards 30th September 2017 Book Now!

2015 winners

1        The Camera Platform PATRON SPONSOR:

Tink Minster        


Best Student Award      

Brendan Wasserman – WINNER

Marius de Nysschen

Briony McLeod     Strife

Reel to Reel

Chamber 6  Certificate


2        Cine Photo Tools PATRON SPONSOR:

Lauren Badenhorst


Technician of the Year   Certificate

Malcolm Stone – WINNER Gaffer       

Houstan Hadden Gaffer

Alan Barnes Focus Puller



3        Stark Films PATRON SPONSOR:


SASO Award

                             Adi Visser   Steadicam on ‘Guinness’        Certificate

                             James Frater Steadicam on ‘Kite’      

                             Wayne de Lange   Water camera on ‘Die Pro’      


4        Cross Kine PATRON SPONSOR:

Morné Lane


Alternative and Short Film ,Actuality


                                Zenn van Zyl       Nantes         Gold

                                Andre Coetzee and

                                Leslie van Wyk Lilith – Genesis One       Silver

                                Peter Tischhauser Broken Monsters  Silver

                                Warrick Mc CLeod  Elven Sky    Bronze


5        DU Film Productions PATRON SPONSOR:

Anne-Linde du Toit       


Music Video         

                Roscoe Vercueil         Parlotones – Sleepwalker         VSA Gold

                Tim Drabandt    Bigiano – Tonight         Gold

                Robo Wilson    Van Coke – Chaos Silver

                Brendan Barnes       Satellite      Silver


6        S. A. P. A.  PATRON SPONSOR:

Pieter Potgieter   


Corporate Documentary

                             Wayne de Lange        Saving Aslam        Silver

                             Wayne de Lange   Still Running        Silver

                             Felix Seuffert       Siemens – Letter to Semy        Bronze


  7      Puma Video  PATRON SPONSOR:

Henk Germishuysen      



 Richard Finn Gregory    The Boers At The End Of The World Bronze

Charl Fraser SASC          Story of African Film      Bronze

Riley Grunewald   The Shore Break   Bronze


8        Visual Impact PATRON SPONSOR:

Goran Music        


Wildlife Documentary   

AQUVISION Peter Lamberti SASC      Shark Alley VSA  Gold

                         Brothers in Blood        3 Silver

                         Hippo Gangs   4 Silver

                         Cheetah Race to Rule        3 Silver


9        kykNet  PATRON SPONSOR:

Karen Meiring      


TV Drama / Comedy     

                   Jonathan de la Querra      End Game Ep3     Silver

                  Hans Khüle SASC   Terug na Egipte    Silver

                  Tom Marais SASC Sterlopers   Silver



Tony Eddy


          Commercial Corporate  

Velocity            Nedbank – Reins       VSA

                         Paul Gilpen  SASC Gold

                         Peter Tischhauser Gold

                         Devin Toselli   Gold

                         Timothy Pike SASC        Nedbank – No Stone        Gold

                         Jamie Ramsay SASC      Liberty – Agile       Silver

                         Rob Malpage SASC         Barclays – Prosper Silver

                         Timothy Pike SASC        Old Mutual – Wisdom      Silver


   10 P         Panalux PATRON SPONSOR:

Tony Eddy 


Commercial Product     

                             Paul Gilpen SASC      Amstel – The Chef VSA Gold

                             Paul Gilpen SASC Bells – The Reader          Gold

                             Eugenio Galli        Smirnoff      Gold

                             Miles Goodall SASC        Black Dog   Silver


11      Panavision  PATRON SPONSOR:

James Barth        



                             Lance Gewer SASC    Kite   VSA Gold

                             Vicci Turpin SASC          Four Corners        Gold

                             Tom Marais SASC I Number Number Gold

                             Willie Nel SASC     Tiger House Gold


12      Media Film Services PATRON SPONSOR:

Neill Horsfall

Neil Du Toit                   


The Stewart Farnell Award      -Uwe Beckmann SASC -for Life Time Achievement to the Film and TV Industry


A special SASC BA Award was presented to Vincent Cox, ASC, SASC, BSC for his lifelong contribution to the SASC


The ultimate award for a Director of Photography is the Feature Award,

Lance Gewer SASC won with the highest points with the highest Gold, hence he is the winner of the Visible Spectrum Award (in the total of 4 golds)